The Road Less Traveled

image

Every time you hear the still small voice it is critical, like 911. It can be a warning, a calming, a defense mechanism, all setting the tone for you to cope. Either way it’s the Holy Spirit giving you a heads up. Case and point, you’re in route to your destination and although there were diverse ways to get there. Your guide or that still small voice moved you to take the road less traveled. Now you could question why you are taking the longest route or you could trust God and know He would not steer you wrong. While others traveled the quickest or median distance to reach the location. Be mindful, getting there the quickest is not always beneficial. His way is to slow you up a bit, to show you something. By faith, you proceeded on the road less traveled. That something is critical to your journey. For those that took the shortest distance to arrive at the destination, it resulted in you not seeing the critical piece to the puzzle. Sometimes it was also a diversion tactic to keep your safe. Then other times it was a means to an end. Ultimately, to put you at the destination later so that you would cross paths with a certain someone. All and all it was to equip you, for the long haul ahead.

 Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him to help you do it, and he will. Psalm 37:5 TLB

There are those from a different generation or even of a learned mind set, that would argue going the quickest route would get you there with room to spare and still yield what God is showing you. Many times the extended travel is not only showing yoimageu something but delaying from experiencing something devastating or the person you are meant to see would not be there until the charted time. When He takes us the longer route it is for;

  • Sustainment
  • Encouragement
  • Comfort
  • Empowerment

Biblical Example

Remember Elijah, He led him into the wilderness where the river quenched his thirst and the raven fed him. Two of the unlikeliest means to be nourished for mankind. Both of these measures were the road less traveled. So it was the longest means to eat and drink but guess what, over time Elijah became strengthened, empowered, and sustained for the journey ahead. God could have done it differently and easier but, He knew He had to equip Elijah for the long haul. Now that didn’t make the road any easier but He did prepare the way. That’s one of His promises to us, He always prepares the way ahead of us.

You guide me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny. Psalm 73:24 NLT

 But the [a]Helper (Comforter, Advocate, Intercessor—Counselor, Strengthener, Standby), the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name [in My place, to represent Me and act on My behalf], He will teach you all things. And He will help you remember everything that I have told you. John 14:26 AMP

The Spirit of truth will come and guide you in all truth. He will not speak His own words to you; He will speak what He hears, revealing to you the things to come and bringing glory to Me. The Spirit has unlimited access to Me, to all that I possess and know, just as everything the Father has is Mine. That is the reason I am confident He will care for My own and reveal the path to you. John 16:13 VOICE

Personal Example:

I attended a woman’s conference in Atlanta, TX. It was a Beth Moore simulcast. I was leary about going because I did not have everything in the natural to attend. But He made away just in the nick of time. When I pulled up the directions for travel, there were three different routes. In a still small voice, I heard the road less traveled. There were clearly two different routes that would have put me at the destination 20 to 3o minutes quicker. The conference started promptly at 11:30 am on Aug. 15th, 2015. As I traveled, I noticed some things very insignificant. But as I walked in the church auxiliary doors. I noticed, all the beautiful women at the church as they were singing and worshipping God, it was a full house. Right away the Pastor walked toward me and then the Worship Pastor’s wife met me and led me to a seat, right next to her mother-in-law. She told me she had a special place for me. I was nervous because I was alone, but I knew God was right there with me. I also knew I was in a safe place, I could sense it. This body of believers made me feel welcomed. I also knew I was friendly, so they responded to me in the same manner. It did not matter that I was not apart of the flock.

After praise and worship and watching the first segment of the simulcast-conference titled, Audacity of Hope. We gathered for lunch. Just as lunch wrapped up, I spoke with different ladies throughout the conference. I went back to my seat and noticed there was something in my seat, it was a shiny new book. I giggled because I had just left Beth Moore’s, table of all her products and had looked at the book, even picked it up. I did not have enough money on me, so I put it back down. Then I arrived back at my seat and it’s sitting in my chair. I was elated and realized He had worked it out, all for my good. The conference started back up again, we had two more breaks before it ended. The most amazing thing happened. I remember the final song as all the ladies sang in unison. It was In Christ Alone. The chorus of that song filled the place and the Holy Spirit just moved upon all the women’s hearts. After I felt a charge of the Holy Spirit, the spiritual voltage amped up in that room. The most amazing thing was it was not just me it was a host of other ladies that felt the rising up, of the Comforter in all of us, on that day. He showed me numerous things on that day but the most pivotal, was together we rise as an army for His cause and are stronger to crush mountains, trample over discouragements and ring the necks of the dragons in our lives. I encourage anyone reading these words, to begin to hear His whisper and reject the tactics and tricks of satan.

Here is a song of encouragement: What If I Gave Everything by Casting Crowns

Leave a Reply

