The Depth Of His Love

YAMW_DepthOf_HisLove

The Depth Of His Love: Greater Than The Seven-Seas

I have often thought about my love for my three boys. I remember their birth and how I’d take the blanket and wrap it around them to cover them and keep them warm, as if I could wrap them up in my love. They were so precious to me and I often saw myself going above and beyond to display my love for them.

Because they were babies, they never saw the expressions of my love. That did not stop me from smothering them with my love. I went through great lengths to ensure they were nurtured and loved. I wanted to make sure they didn’t miss out on any moments of love. If someone asked me when they were babies what word best described how much I love them, I would have said priceless. Today, I would say unconditional.

Neither “priceless” or “unconditional” carries a description worthy of a mother’s love. No matter what they did back then, it would not have stopped me from loving them. As they get older I may not like some of their choices, but my love for them has never faded. There is no way to quantify how far my love extends for them. I know I will carry the love I have for them even until death. That’s how God made moms to love.

Now to juxtapose a mother’s love to the depth of Gods love for us. There is no comparison, His love extends far beyond human comprehension. The first thing we know about the depth of His love is that He gave His only son to pay the ultimate price for our sins. As humans, we would not give a child to die for the sins of the world. His love is far-reaching: no matter what choice we make, to receive and believe Him or not, He loves us all.

Yes, He wants us to ultimately make the choice to heed the call for salvation, to come to Him. He wants us to choose Him willingly and have life more abundantly. Not with an armed fist over our heads to make us choose Him. His love for us is unconditional, never-failing and unlimited. Only God that can love us like that.

Gods love can’t be used up by man. Even after we embrace His love, He still has love left over. He wants us to know His love is everywhere, it’s not just in church or home. As His love is omnipresent as is He.  His love is here, there, everywhere at the same time. So as we move, His love moves with us. His love is an all-consuming shield that never fails. A guide that will forever lead and a protection we can always depend on.

Then Christ will live in you through faith. I also pray that love may be the ground into which you sink your roots and on which you have your foundation. 18 This way, with all of God’s people you will be able to understand how wide, long, high, and deep His love is.19 You will know Christ’s love, which goes far beyond any knowledge. I am praying this so that you may be completely filled with God. Ephesians 3:17-19 GW

Here’s a song that encouraged me: MULTIPLIED by NeedToBreathe

 

 

Leave a Reply

