God Uses Billboards

IMG_9422-0.JPG

Think about the canvas of Gods imagination and how He sees you and I. With that, the most amazing thing happened yesterday. I asked God for a sign to see where this road leads me. I found myself going to the grave site where my youngest son remains are buried. As I walked towards the headstone everything appeared the same, except the dirt. There seem to be more red clay packed on top. I walked around several times and then realized something else was different. As there appeared to be a second baseball on the ledge of the headstone. You see there had been only one which was a prop from the service. Then I picked up the ball and noticed an inscription

“7-28-14
Thanks Jordan!
Jerry
FROG”.

I became uncontrollably emotional as you see I know I am healed from the sting of death of my youngest son. What I didn’t understand was what caused me to cry? My question was…Who visits the grave site of a 9 year olds remains and writes that on a baseball and it’s not a family member. I couldn’t figure it out. I picked up the baseball again and noticed it was marked official league. I compared that to the prop baseball and it was not the same. I kept rehashing it in my mind. I finally left the grave site and eventually went home.

Why must I continually suffer such painful anguish? Why must I endure the sting of their insults like an incurable wound? Will you let me down when I need you like a brook one goes to for water, but that cannot be relied on?” Jeremiah 15.18 NET

After discussing it, I was reminded of the impact Jordan had on so many lives. This was clearly a sign of the impact he had on this persons life. I realized, there are those I don’t even know where he touch their lives. You see that’s the sign of a billboard changing someone’s life. Here a year and some months later someone thought enough to leave a sign of thanks of what the billboard did for he in his life.

The next morning I rehearsed again the events of yesterday with my dear friend and as I explained it to her, she mentioned that’s how you know the billboard was and is effective. I know why she said that, as God had said Jordan is (in a previous season) His walking billboard. Then the amazement was revealed, she said it was your ex -coworker, “Jerry” that left the baseball. I again began to cry because I knew it was in fact he. You must understand my dearest friend never knew Jerry. Only God could have given her that revelation. I thought about the last time I saw Jerry, April 30th, 2014 and he said as he hugged me goodbye…”Jordan changed my life. I am a better me because of he”. I realized yet again this is the fruit we are to bear as believers. Many of us would never get to witness how our loved one changed another’s life. I thank God he allowed me to see the baseball inscribed by Jerry, of his thanks for his appreciation of Jordan, his walking billboard. I know the story is still unfolding but the most important fact is seeing a billboards effectiveness.

To experience this just days before what would have been his birthday, Nov. 25th. Through Jordan God showed Himself real to Jerry and that’s a billboard with a message for a lifetime. I have not seen a billboard with such a lasting impression. He still lives on in our hearts. I thank You, God for a purpose fulfilled in Jordan as You released purpose in me.

If a man had a hundred sheep and one of them wanders away, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others on the hills and go out to search for the one that is lost. 13)And if he finds it, I tell you the truth, he will rejoice over it more than over the ninety-nine that didn’t wander away! 14) In the same way it is not my heavenly Father’s will that even one of these little ones should perish. Matthew 18:12-14 NLT

Who do you know today that is a walking billboard and how they changed even 1 persons life through ones very own witness? Be mindful He draws all men unto Him.

Leave a Reply

