Do it for ME

IMG_9232.JPG

The first time I heard the words, “do it for ME”, were from my youngest sons mouth (Jordan A. Samples – deceased). At that time my oldest and I were at odds with each other. I had asked him, John (15 at that time) to take out the trash. He did not budge. Then at the sound of Jordan’s voice he said to him, “Do It For ME“. John jumped up quickly and emptied the trash. I was in the hallway when I heard those infamous words and began to cry as I was amazed of those four words coming out of my youngest mouth and how my oldest moved so quickly. In that season, I did not know those four words were scripture. I just knew a my nine year old would not know how to put those words together in the correct context. I also knew God was using Jordan but as to why, it had not unfolded. I was astonished.

Two years later;
Since that time of those spoken words I have grown up in so many ways… One obvious point of growth is what many see on the outside as my countenance change. The change began on the inside of me first For God healed me in my heart, mind and body. This includes the sting of death, from my youngest son’s passing.

Now along the way of life’s journey He exploded, “do it for ME” in my heart. To be clear the ME is God. I now know what caused my oldest son to move with haste as well as myself to obey the call on my life. You see whenever God assigns us to do something and we don’t want to perform it, that is the very thing He says to us, “do it for ME”.

16 So the last shall be first, and the first last: for many be called, but few chosen. Matthew 20:16 KJV

For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion Romans 9:15 KJV.

I did not want to move as He purposed (early on) me, you see it meant I would have to move and speak like I’ve never done before. It meant people especially those at church would look at me and gauk at me, who does she think she is. It meant I would stand out. Although I knew I was standing out for what God told me to do. Of course there were those that did not believe as though I was not wrapped to tight. It was all these reasons and more. As I did not want to move as God assigned and purposed. The funny thing about God when He chooses who He choses we can’t change it. You see that would mean He is a lie. But God is not a man that He should lie…Each time I’d go back to God and say, I don’t want this, He’d say nothing. After I was done pouting then I’d hear my instruction to press forward. The main premise, as He always drew me back to Him, was “do it for ME”. I’d say Lord how can I do this as they have come against me. The next thing I heard, “as unto me”, which brought me right back to “do it for ME”.

With good will doing service, as to the Lord, and not to men: Ephesians 6:7 KJV

These words are pivotal as how do I not move the way God assigned me, when He sent his only son to die for you and me. That means “after all we owe Him our soul”. Food for thought, when we need to forgive someone and we are holding on to it for dear life…do it for ME. When that wayward husband/wife does the unthinkable and they want to come back home…do it for ME. Someone near and dear to you hurt you beyond words…do it for ME. Winning souls to Christ…do it for ME. That’s the ultimate question from God to us…do it for ME.

For perhaps he therefore departed for a season, that thou shouldest receive him for ever; Not now as a servant, but above a servant, a brother beloved, specially to me, but how much more unto thee, both in the flesh, and in the Lord? If thou count me therefore a partner, receive him as myself. If he hath wronged thee, or oweth thee ought, put that on mine account; I Paul have written it with mine own hand, I will repay it: albeit I do not say to thee how thou owest unto… Philemon 1:15-19 KJV

Take a few moments and ask yourself if God asked you the question…would you do it for ME? No matter what it pertained to, would you do it? Before you respond let me warn you, God does not ask a question that he doesn’t already know the answer to.

Here is an encouraging song: Lord Do It by Bishop Hezakiah Walker LFT Church Choir featuring Pastor Kervy Brown

Leave a Reply

