God Loves All Things

A Love Story for All Seasons

World’s Way

Have you ever heard the saying if you love something set it free, if it comes back to you, it’s yours. If it doesn’t it never was. I first heard this when I was a teenager. Someone special shared this saying with me when I thought I was in love and really didn’t know what being in love was at the time. It’s the way of the world; two people resolve their differences whether in a marriage,  friendship, even business relationships they go their separate ways. This is the solution far to often in marriages and other types of relationships. This outcome is okay in the world but in the body of Christ it is not.

FROG_Ultimate_sacrifice

God‘s Way

Fast forwarding to right now something new but old came to me. I have a love one that had to go away for a season. God kept me in this season while the love one has been away. During this time He gave me the gift of healing in my heart, mind, and body. Where I thought I could not make it without that love one. I have learned better in this season. Not only am I moving forward in the things of God. I have learned God’s will for my life. If you’re asking yourself what did the love one do? Yes, this love one did me wrong and hurt me deeply. Ultimately, he did not take care of my heart. I am now stronger and walking in God’s peace and favor.

Now God is preparing me for that love one’s return. When he returns He wants me to receive him as he is and not accept him as he was. God also does not want me to hold him captive to the things of his past. Truth is, when God received me he did so with open arms (in spirit) just as I was. That is the power of God’s love and he expects us to do the same for the people we encounter.

As I thought more and more about this, I realized this is what God was preparing me for all along. As He pulled me through the valley he showed me how he covered, hovered, and cradled me all while he showed me what he expects of me as his sheep. He revealed I am to walk in love, even when it does not seem right. He removed the covering from my eyes when it comes to His majestic love for all mankind. He also revealed how he forgave me and remembered it no more. All of these nuggets of love he uncovered along the way. For me has brought me to a point of how I am to move in the here and now and forward. All the way through I kept telling myself I am not God or Jesus for that matter, how can I forgive and forget and how can I walk in love when someone has does these grievance acts to me? As I continued through the journey I better understood how I am able to do these things. It became very clear and in fact simple, we are made in God’s image and do as Jesus did when he walked the earth. You see when he walked the earth he was flesh and God did that for a reason. He endured the same things we are incurring today and greater. After that revelation I realized I could not use the excuse, I am not Jesus. Let’s be clear I am not Jesus I know that, but God set the precedents when his son walked the earth. He endured people talking about him, physical hurt, lies told against him and greater. Yet he still died on the cross for our sins. He could have come down from the cross but he didn’t, he paid it all. That is His majestic love for us all.

Now back to me receiving that love one just as they are. I am now ready to receive my love one just as they are. If you are saying, “you don’t know what my love one did to me”. You are right, I don’t know your specific circumstance and thats where your relationship with God comes in because he will order your steps and lead you on your course, taylor made for you. I know I get it, this is no easy feat, but we are more than conquerors through Christ Jesus. When I receive others just as Jesus received me then and only then you are walking in his love. 

Biblical Way

10 I appeal to you to show kindness to my child, Onesimus. I became his father in the faith while here in prison. 11 Onesimus[c] hasn’t been of much use to you in the past, but now he is very useful to both of us. 12 I am sending him back to you, and with him comes my own heart.

13 I wanted to keep him here with me while I am in these chains for preaching the Good News, and he would have helped me on your behalf. 14 But I didn’t want to do anything without your consent. I wanted you to help because you were willing, not because you were forced. 15 It seems you lost Onesimus for a little while so that you could have him back forever. 16 He is no longer like a slave to you. He is more than a slave, for he is a beloved brother, especially to me. Now he will mean much more to you, both as a man and as a brother in the Lord.

17 So if you consider me your partner, welcome him as you would welcome me. 18 If he has wronged you in any way or owes you anything, charge it to me. 19 I, Paul, write this with my own hand: I will repay it. And I won’t mention that you owe me your very soul! Philemon 1:

After reading Philemon I realized how this passage spoke to me in volumes. Who is your Onesimus, that you need to receive as he or she is? This word was illuminating for me. I now know I am free in knowing the fullness of God’s word whereas partiality of his word is bondage.  You can be free today by reading your Bible.

This song has encouraged me hope it does the same for me: What Love Is This – Kari Jobe

2 Comments

  1. October 9, 2013 at 3:15 am

    Just wondering if you’ve read the book “Boundaries” by Dr Cloud & Townsend, two wonderful Christian men. Here’s a write up I did on it…it may be worth a read: http://gleaningthenuggets.com/2011/08/24/building-beautiful-boundaries/


Leave a Reply

