Healing: After The Storm

FROG_AfterthestormThe truth is, we’ll all go through a storm believers and non-believers. The difference between a believer going through a storm versus a non-believer, we have our faith that carries us through the storm and our trust in God that sustains after the storm. No matter how monumental or miniscule, that storm has shifted your life in some way. What is pivotal for us to remember, the storms won’t cease to occur but how we respond after the storm is what moves us forward.

The righteous person faces many troubles but the Lord comes to the rescue each time Psalms 34:19 nlt.

As believers we must know once we have come through the storm and when to move forward, into the new thing. Don’t waddle in the storm as you have just come through something that brought you closer in Christ Jesus and ultimately will cause you to help someone else along the way.

You now have a story to tell. Thats what we call a testimony. Somewhere along the way your story will help someone else. Whether its one on one, a small group with your closest friends or to the masses. However, God has called you to release your testimony, it will help others. Your testimony will change lives for the better. I heard someone say, “you can’t tell someone something if you haven’t been through anything”. I know you are thinking I’d rather not go through anything, right?

Well thats what I felt once Jordan was diagnosed with a Glio-blastoma Multiforme brain tumor grade 4. I asked God to take it from him and give it to me. As a mom that made sense to me. Thats not how it works though. As we went through this journey I could not make heads or tells as to why I was going through this. I kept thinking did I cause this to happen to my son, was this a curse from generations back, was I not a good mommy? What I later discovered, all of those were incorrect. I did all of the right things to the best of my ability, the Lord showed me in his word things happen and it was not my fault and God certainly did not cause this. If I had a dime for the times I heard that during this season, well you know the saying. God does not take life, he gives life more abundantly. It is satan that comes to kill, steal and destroy.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy, I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full John 10:10.

As I move passed the storm of Jordan, his diagnosis and him going home to be with the Lord. I am beginning to hear various stories of people that encountered and were impacted by Jordan. As the details of the stories unfold, it gave me a glimpse as to what people experienced while interacting with Jordan, when I was not in the same space as he. I want to share the stories with you as it illuminates who Jordan was and how he moved through this journey with courage and a smile. A parent told me he was fishing with Jordan, his son and another boy and he bated all three of their hooks. They began to fish and Jordan caught all of the fish, the boys noticed this and began to ask the parent to bate their hook the way he was bating Jordan’s. They were getting frustrated thinking the parent was doing something special for Jordan’s hook. Jordan’s teacher at that time told me there was a man with him, she did not know who he was. I realized when he told the story, after Jordan went home to be with the Lord, he was the parent that was with him. Hearing the story from the parent made me think here it was again Jordan doing a task with limited function on the right side. He did not complain he just did. He use to say, “I know what I know and I do what I do”. I figured he had picked it up from his brothers. I now know it was his faith in God, even as a child that carried him through.

Another story, my friend would pick Jordan up from school so that I could work. When I picked him up after work, she told me she had carpool duty that day and she had dropped off all of the kids. After arriving back at home sitting in the driveway the funniest thing was said by Jordan. She said, “I rolled up the window and smashed my youngest sons fingers”. He cried and cried and cried and she said, “son you should not have had your fingers in the window”. Then out of no where Jordan says, “thats life in the fast lane”. With everything going on with Jordan he still had a sense of humor and could deliver a punch line. These were just two of the countless stories of Jordan that reflect how he loved others and how he was loved.

I know we are all going through a storm or coming out of one but there will be a season when there is an after the storm. When it occurs acknowledge it, walk in it through your faith and trust God to move forward into the new thing.

And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them Romans 8:28 nlt.

Leave a Reply

