Come To Me and Rest

TREE_OF_LIFEBefore this season I had been conditioned to do so many things in my own understanding. When it was time for a new car I bought a new car. When it was time for a new house, I bought a new house. When it was time for a new job, I got a new job. When it was time for new furniture, I bought some new pieces for my abode. When I looked for new schools for my kids, yeap you guessed it, I pick a new school. I then graduated in my prayer life and began to ask God for the desires of my heart. Even then my prayer time was centered around my wants. All of these decisions led to choices which ultimately resulted in a path I chose for my life. After going through season after season of spiritual droughts. I realized my way was not working. In light of my circumstances I was led to a new thing. What if I prayed about my request before making the choice? In this season, I realized God wants me to come to him and rest.

You may be asking how did I do that? I went to him in prayer and listened to the plans HE has for my life. This meant I formed a relationship with him and not just a one or two time petition. I have a place where it is just me and the Lord. The choices I had made for my life weren’t working. At the time of making the choices I did not see it as not working. I saw my choices as I am on my way now. My choices was my plan for my life.

33 Seek the Kingdom of God[a] above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need Matthew 6

 As I spent time in the Lord I not only knew his plans for my life but avoided certain pitfalls. Did that mean I would not  experience any storms? No, unfortunately I encountered challenges that seemed like there was no way out. The bible tells us we will experience tribulation but he delivers us out of them all. I Remembered how I endured through the last storm or crisis and I applied some of the same steps that moved me through? As you go through other storms remember what you did, that brought you through. Like reading your bible regularly, daily prayer for somoneone other than yourself, fasting, praying in the spirit or just come to him and rest. Whatever it was that carried you through, you must perform  it again. I also realized as I went through each storm my spirit man grew, simply put when you know better you do better.    

 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done Philipians 4

Where I spend time in the Lord varies, there are times I am in my room, at the tree in my back yard, or at the kitchen table. Wherever I am I know he is in the midst. As we continue to heal in Jordan’s going home to be with the Lord it is the peace of God (Jehovah Shalom) that cradles us and cover us. Yes, God uses people to get the tangible to us and in this season people known and unknow have helped us in so many ways. I thank God for those that had and have their spiritual ears engaged. We are blessed even in this unbelievable circumstance.

Do you have a relationship with the Lord? He wants you to come to him and rest.

2 Comments

  1. tonyagp said,

    May 4, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    You are amazing…that is all I can say. You are such a gifted writer and I know you are helping others like you just helped me. I had some aha moments while reading…..”as you go through other storms, what brought you through?” Jackie, you just helped me! Thank you, thank you. Today, I will reflect on those things. Love you…and your gift of wrting!


Leave a Reply

