It Starts at the Root of the Thing

Who our children are starts at the root of the thing. As parents we must cast down any curse or thing thats not of God. Yes, there are things that shape our children that they have no say so, in accepting. They take on these behaviors irregardless of their knowing or understanding. In this season my two older boys – John (15) and Justin (14) were weighing heavy on my heart. There were certain behaviors exuded that I have seen before. Whether it was by someone in my extended family or husbands extended family, it was unfavorable none the less. It was something to be identified and cast down.

How would I have known that these particular behavior(s) stemmed from a curse deeply rooted. I didn’t, but during this season I began to notice stiuations and scenarios that have repeated from one generation to the next. The Lord also began to deal with me on generational curses, on both sides of our families. HE began impressing upon me more and more regaring generational curses. It was clear, it was going to begin with my boys. At the onset of Jordan’s diagnosis I remebered things with my boys that forced me to go back to, the root of the thing. It became apparent that I needed to cast them down. I thought what are the words to cast down generational curses over my boys? Before I knew it, God gave me the words. In my prayer, I cast the thing down and loosed life more abundantly. I also loosed the opposite of what I cast down.

I asked God why me? He said, who else would I have to pray over their own family. I knew then and still know my faith was greater. I also, knew that greatness was on their lives and I shared that with them – John, Justin and Jordan. As I spoke to them I shared with them the pitfalls and traps that have halted our families from moving into what God has for us. Its true what God has for you it is for you. However, if you never walk toward or on the path of HIS will, how would you obtain the promises or his will for your life. Yes, thats deep for teenagers, but when is it the right time? Our kids / my kids needed “right now” direction and I did not want another generation under my voice – to fall prey to the snares that the devil has set for us over and over again.

While we have gone through the wilderness in Jordan’s illness and other things I also noticed how Jordan asked more and more questions about my extended family because you see they don’t live in Tyler. There was not a physical prescence. Jordan, knew I came from somewhere and someone(s). At his questioning, I would describe my dad and mothers (blessed with two moms, biological and actual). As the questions continued on my extended family the Lord began to deal with me, it starts at the root of the thing. I thought about how Jordan, began questioning me and coincidently this reign true in my spirit.

At the time I felt like my prayers were all over the place; praying for Jordan in his illness, our two older boys, my marriage and my family as a whole. Did you notice, I did not pray for myself. Thats because I knew I needed to cover my family in prayer no matter what. I presumed while I prayed for my family everything else would fall into place including me. Things were breaking all around me. I thought yet again how can I fix this? It was clear to me early on it was not by my might. I learned quickly to Trust God no matter what. Now that I am at the finish line I hope to share this journey with you, in the hopes that God is glorified! Here are two scriptures as confirmation:

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope Jeremiah 29.

Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect Romans 12.

Leave a Reply

